Trennlinie 01 Trennlinie 03
 Geschichte Bayerns > Review > Die The Various Bavarian Territories
The Various Bavarian Territories

The original sovereign territory occupied by Bavaria was limited to what we today refer to as "Old Bavaria": the regions of Upper Bavaria, Lower Bavaria and, since 1623, the Upper Palatinate (to the north of Regensburg). Between 1803 and 1815 the new Bavarian regions to the north and west of today's state were added. Franconia and Swabia are very different from Old Bavaria in both languages and mentalities. Some of these regions are still primarily Protestant even today.

Between 1945 and 1948 around 1.9 million refugees came to Bavaria, most of them from the former German eastern territories, eastern and south-eastern Europe. In 1962 the largest group of exiles, the Sudeten Germans, received the honorary title of Bavaria's "fourth tribe".

In 1946 Bavaria lost a large territory that had been connected with it for ages: the Rhenish Palatinate (the region around Kaiserslautern and along the River Rhine). Today this region is part of the state of "Rheinland-Pfalz".