Trennlinie 01 Trennlinie 03
 Geschichte Bayerns > Culture > Churches in Bavaria
Churches in Bavaria

Bavaria's cultural landscape is visibly dotted with church towers and monasteries. The local populationn was converted to Christianity during the 7th and 8th centuries by Irish and Scottish missionaries. In 739, St Bonifatius from England set up the four bishoprics of Salzburg, Regensburg, Freising and Passau in the name of the papacy, thus providing the duchy of Bavaria with a firm eccelsiastical infastructure.

Until the end of the 18th century, numerous independent church territories (prince-bishoprics, abbeys and imperial monasteries) existed in the area covered by today's Bavaria, as well as around 150 monasteries with special rights and a great deal of property. Their buildings and furnishings featured much representational Christian art.